Hey there! Remember me???

It has been so long since I last posted, I can’t believe it!  It was in June and since we just stepped into March today, that makes it almost 9 months.  My apologies for the silence…

There have been some changes in my household.  First, my son, Eric,  has found a wonderful girl, Jamie, and they are planning on getting married this May.  She now lives with us and is a real joy to have in our lives.  She also has a 15 year old son, Austin, that is slowly getting comfortable with us all and we are all enjoying the time that he gets to spend with us.  We see him every other weekend and we try to make the time we have together count.  So now… because of all of this, the house has been turned upside down, dedicating space to them and rearranging our schedules to accommodate everyone.  Is it a challenge?  Of course it is!  But our home is so much happier, that it is no burden at all.  🙂  So, remember that I said they are getting married?  Well, guess who is doing all the planning?  ME!  Now, this is the real challenge… I’ve worried over the details, asked thousands of questions so they feel like it’s their wedding and not mine, made arrangements, you name it!  But we’re down to 80+ days right now and I think it just might all come together!  Someone very wise told me not to worry about all the small stuff.  Things were going to go wrong, but no one was going to know but me.  That would mean that everyone else would think it was perfect!  Thank goodness!  And I have my good friend and sister helping out all along the way.  That has relieved me more than you know or that I can say.  Thank you ladies!

Are you curious if I’ve been stitching?  Well, of course I have been!  That’s why I am still somewhat sane.  LOL  I’ve done several projects since then and since I really can’t remember the order, I’m going to have to just lay them all out for you to see.  Here goes!

 

Acorn

 

 

This is a little freebie that I found.  I just thought it was too cute and had to stitch it.  I’ve tried searching and couldn’t find who the designer is, so if you know, please let me know.  I really hope that it was posted correctly and not pirated!

 

 

 

 

 

Next… I think I finished this one off.  It’s The Raven by La-D-Da.  I love Halloween and stitching projects for this holiday makes me really happy.  Don’t you love that crow?Midnight Dreary

Autumn

 

 

My Sis was working on the Clear Moon Sampler and the Thanksgiving Sampler by PrairieSchooler last fall.  I saw those two, liked them, but then saw the third design of the tryptic, the Autumn Sampler and fell in love!  If you remember, we stitch a lot of the same designs, but incorporate our twists on them.  We generally use very different fabrics, thus needing to tweak the flosses.  Well, that was no exception here.  I used the same fabric that I used on Ezmiralda’s Boutique back in 2012.  The piece that I had left was colored in such a way that I felt there were leaves falling , which made a perfect back drop for my fall piece.  Don’t you think?

 

 

 

 

Last fall, Laura and I went to a Cross Stitch Retreat in Lincoln City, OR, not far outside of Portland, OR.  There we met a lady that we chat with on Saturday mornings.  ok… I have to admit that I sometimes skip chat because sleep and my cozy bed just hold me captive!  We had a great time with Rita.  She took us on a day of sight seeing, shopping, and even whale spotting!  We had a wonderful day and wonderful time in your home state
of Oregon, thank you Rita!  Day trip in OR

 

 

Lamb

We had a wonderful time, met a lot of really fabulous ladies, and actually got some stitching in while we were there too!  I think that I actually started working on the piece above and then pulled out this little guy and started and finished him too!  Isn’t he sweet?  It’s Lamb by Shepherd’s Bush.  I don’t know why…. but I just really are drawn to sheep…

 

 

Christmas Robin 2Christmas Robin - back

One of the fun things they did while there was to have a White Elephant Ornament Exchange.  Since this was our first time at the Retreat, we wanted to participate in the ornament exchange.  I worked on a piece that I found on Pinterest, then purchased so I was supporting the designer.  I absolutely LOVE this little guy and will probably have to stitch it again so I have one for myself.  It is A Robin’s Christmas by Lynne Nicoletti.  It’s one of those cute little embroidered envelopes!

So what’s next you ask?  Hmmm….. let me think….  I think at this point, my competitor mode kicked in.  Laura was working on a piece that we both owned… she worked on it at the Retreat and either finished it or came very close in doing so.  That made me want to pull my piece out and do the same.  So once my last project was done, I pulled out Poinsettia House by Little House Needleworks.  I had what I thought was the perfect fabric – a pink opalescent from Silkweavers.  The little sparkles make me think of snow falling on the little house.  Do you see it too?  Poinsettia House

After this, I decided that I needed to finish some of my pieces so I could put them on display.  So one weekend, I sat and stitched pillows, pin cushions, and framed projects.  I’m feeling much better now.  I still have a ton left to do, but at least I made a dint in them.

On another weekend, I took a leaf from Laura’s book, and went into my office and hung up everything that was finished.  It is really nice to see them throughout the year and there’s an added bonus of knowing that they aren’t being harmed in any way while they are waiting to visit us again when their season arrives.  I also created a spreadsheet of all the designs that I have so I can track what’s in my stash, what is a WIP, and what has been completed.  I also cleared out an old dresser, arranged all my fabrics in two of the drawers and all my flosses in the top.  I am really pleased with this because now they are so much easier to see and find what I want to work my next project on.  All of my patterns are in a file cabinet set up according to what season they apply to.  If they don’t, then they fall under “Any”.  🙂

This next little piece I’ve had for a long time and it always makes me smile every time I see it.  It’s Warm Winter Woolens by Little House Needleworks.  He worked up lickety split!  I’m planning on making him into a little stitching bag to carry my projects in.  He should be very cute and then I’ll be able to smile at him all the time.  🙂

Warm Winter Woolens

Whew!  that’s a lot of stitching… but wait!  There’s more!  I think my last finish for 2014 was Jingle by The Cross-Eyed Cricket.  Laura talked me into the fabric that I used, which necessitated switching out almost every color of floss!  Gotta love my sis!  But that’s ok… I spend her money just as well as she spends mine!   😉  Here’s how he looks all stitched.  I’m planning on finding a really pretty plaid and cording.  I want to finish it in a pillow, just like the pattern shows.  I think that will just be the finishing touch.  Loved stitching it!

Jingle

This made my finished project count for 2014 TWELVE items.  Not bad for someone who really wasn’t counting, right?

The Ways of Happiness

After the start of the new year, I decided that I wanted to pull out a SAL piece that I kept seeing on FaceBook last year.  I just loved the verse and wanted to see this piece in my own home.  It is The Way to Happiness by Jardin Prive.  I so enjoyed stitching this piece.  Every time I would pull it out, I loved seeing the words and little motifs appear before my eyes.  These are very good words to live by…..
Now… because I just stitch during lunch, this took me the entire month of January to finish.  While I was diligently working on it, because I don’t like to switch between pieces or have multiple projects working at any one time, I watched from the sidelines while my lovely sister finished piece after piece.  So you know what happened next, right?  Do I even have to say?  Yes, you’re correct!

C O M P E T I T O R   M O D E

Since the beginning of February, I have finished three pieces.  Yes, they are small, yes, they are quick, but boy are they cute and of course they are ones that I’ve been wanting to do for a long, long time.

Birds

 

 

 

First, I stitched Birds Mini-Block by Hinzeit.  It went together really quickly.  I plan on finishing it as a Stand Up, so it can be displayed on any flat surface.  I think these are very cute ways to finish your projects and hope to have it done this spring so I can see it very shortly.

 

Under the Blossom

Next I moved on to Under the Blossom Scissor Fob by Chessie & Me.  I’ve probably had this little guy for a year or more and because he reminds me of my kitties, always want to stitch him.  Well… out he came!  The fabric that I chose was left from my Bumblebee piece that I worked on last year.  It’s a pink and white check that I think makes this piece very sweet.  What do you think?

This now brings me to today.  Quite a trip, right?  🙂

Spring

 

I started this little project on Monday of last week.  I worked on it during lunch, as usual.  But, it was blossoming so beautifully, that I decided to keep working on it over the weekend.  I finished stitching it just a few minutes ago and am proud to show it off too.  It is Printemps (or Spring) by Broderies Passion.  It was a freebie that can be found on this blog.  I’ve kept a copy of it since it came out in 2012.  Yes, 2012!!!  So, you can see… it was well past time to pull it out and stitch it up.  Do you like it as much as I do?

 

 

So, as I said at the beginning… this has been a long overdue post.  I apologize for the length and can only hope that my next one won’t be so long in the coming.  Be safe, stay warm, and keep stitching!  🙂

3 thoughts on “Hey there! Remember me???

  1. Holy guacamole! You have been BUSY!!!! I love ALL of your stitches! I am going to have to go look for that PS Autumn Sampler – that one missed my stash, apparently. And congrats on your new additions to the family – the wedding will turn out great, have no fear! Hi Laura!

  2. HA! Laura not really a competition…. but I can’t let you finish more things than me. 🙂

    Karen – Thanks! I loved it when I saw Laura stitching it and just had to do it for myself. I’m very pleased with the results. You’ve been busy too and I’ve seen some really beautiful things coming from your needle…. 😉

Leave a Reply

