January Update

Well… the weather has been really awful here with extreme cold and then vicious snow.  I know we’re not the only place that is enjoying the Winter season!  It seems that we are all experiencing something very different this year and way out of the ordinary.

It has afforded me time to finish one project and then to start on a couple more.  First, right before the new year I finished Song of the Seasons!  I think this piece is just too cute and am very anxious to get it framed and on display.  Here’s a finished piece:

???????????????????????????????Then I pulled out Viktor & Irina by Plum Street Samplers.  This design just makes me giggle!  When I was kitting it up, Eric decided on the fabric.  So I tweaked the colors just a tad and off I went!  What do you think?

Viktor & Irina - Jan

I started in the middle and then worked my way right.  I wanted to get Irina in!  I’ve got several more bits to do before that side is finished and I can move over to Viktor.  But who know?  I might just switch and get the left side going too!

The calendar gave me a start on Tuesday.  I realized that I only had a couple of weeks before the end of the month!  I’ve joined another Round Robin and we are supposed to mail our pieces off on February 1st.  I knew what I was going to send, but hadn’t pulled flosses or started on it yet!  So… out it came, I spent the evening pulling floss and noting what was missing.  Then during lunch the next day, I centered it and got it started.  I want to finish a good chunk of the face so it will be easier for the other ladies to set the parts that they want to work on.  Oh!  I forgot to tell you what the piece is….  DUH!  I’m working on Sweet Dreams Santa by The Vermillion Stitchery!

Sweet Dreams Santa - StartYes… I know that it doesn’t look like I have much done, and I don’t!  I spent the next day coloring in all the beads that will be on the piece – 248 of them all around the border!

I’m anxious to have this piece done and am hopeful that a big section will be finished once it comes back home.  There are four of us in this RR, so there’s a good chance that great progress will be made!

Well…. that’s it for now!  Everyone stay warm and dry!  Hopefully, I’ll be chatting with you again soon!

Brightest Blessings!

2 thoughts on “January Update

  1. A wonderful finish, and I love Viktor & Irina on that fabric 🙂 I like that Santa, too – I haven’t seen a Vermillion WIP in a long time!

  2. Thanks, Karen! I’ve been wanting to do this Santa for a couple of years now. So when we decided to do the RR, it just seemed like the perfect opportunity! I’ll be sure to take a picture of where I am before I send him off on his rounds.

    V&I are such a fun stitch! The fabric puts me in mind of grass and sky, so what a perfect setting for those two? I’ll be back to them next week and can hardly wait! 🙂

Leave a Reply

