Final 2012 Finish!!!

Ok.. Ok… I know that we’ve already left 2012 behind, but I’m still counting this one as my final piece for the year.  I’m happy to present my latest endeavor ~ “Silver Bells” by The Sunflower Seed.

Silver Bells - by The Sunflower Seed

Silver Bells – by The Sunflower Seed

Oh!  And now I can show you what I finished in August for Laura for Christmas!  It’s “Sister Stitcher” by The Primitive Hare.  Isn’t it cute?!?!?

Sister Stitcher - The Primitive Hare

Sister Stitcher – The Primitive Hare

I added the “s” to stitchers to make it reflect us and our love for stitching.  Laura is on the left in Purples and I am on the right in Blues, our favorite colors.  The back is a piece that I thought was just perfect for Laura… and of course she loved it.  🙂

Back - Sister Stitcher - The Primitive Hare

Back – Sister Stitcher – The Primitive Hare

 

With today’s project done, this makes my final finished project count 14 1/2 for the year.  (The half is for the Wedding Sampler that I shared with Laura back in February.)  That’s not quite the 18 that I’d reduced my total to in the Fall, but I’m pretty pleased overall.  However, I think I’m going to do things a bit differently this year.

Yesterday, Laura and I spent the afternoon and late into the evening going through our stash, checking in with our old WIPs, and pondering some forgotten BAPs, trying to decide what we’re going to work on during the coming year.  Of course, I finished my decisions much earlier in the evening, but stayed and lent moral support to my Sister as she continued to sort through her jinormous stack of projects.  Unfortunately, we only got through about half of her stash, but I think she’s got a very good selection now for her 2013 projects.

I started thinking about my projects for 2013 and have come to the realization that I’ve been handling my stitching much like I do my workload at the office.  I set very high goals and nothing can remain undone when I go home.  Crazy!!!  Yes…yes… I can hear all of you out there snickering about how I’ve driven myself mad by doing this!  And you’re right!  It’s insane to think that I could finish every single piece that I’ve picked up, especially since I originally wanted to complete 24 projects in 2012!

Now that this tidbit has finally sunk in…. I’ve decided that I’m going to work on one piece at a time, but with a limit of one month.  (I don’t like to leave things undone… remember…  😉 ) If I finish the piece before the month is up, I’ll move on to the next piece.  But, if the piece is unfinished at the end of the month, I’ll decide if I want to see it through to completion, or put it aside and start on something new.  And if I want to put it down mid-month, it’s ok!  I think this way, I’ll feel like I have more control over what I’m stitching and hopefully less stressed.

Also, on the 3rd weekend of each month, I’m going to work on one of my BAPs. I’ll start on Friday and work through Sunday.  That should give me a pretty good chunk of time to make some progress and I’ll feel like I’m not neglecting them any more….  which really, it’s all about me anyway, so this works as a Win-Win for me!  😀

AND I’m going to start planning for Christmas earlier this year.  That final 2 month push made me hysterical!  Why oh Why did I put myself through that torture???  Of course everyone loved what I did for them, but I was absolutely insane trying to finish stitching them and then finishing them all in time to gift.  So this June, I’m going to sit down and see what it is and who it is that I want to stitch for this year and set a plan to finish each piece at least a month early.

Those are my plans as of today… of course, they are absolutely subject to change just like the weather, but that’s where I’m at right now.

How are you going to plan out your 2013 stitching projects?

That’s all for today, so I’ll talk with you again soon!

4 thoughts on “Final 2012 Finish!!!

  1. I did not finish the majority of my chosen projects for last years WIPocalypse and I felt like I had no disipline. So this year I am not making a list, I am just going to stitch. If I do not have any finishes so be it. The fun is in the stitching right?

  2. Yes! That’s what I’ve finally decided too… making the list and trying to stick with it last year just took all the fun out of it for me. So this year I’ve got a stack of things that I would like to work on at some point. I’m sure new things will make their way in, and I probably won’t get most of these projects done. But that’s ok! The fun is in the stitching!

  3. Very nice final finish and very cute pillow for you and Laura! I don’t have any plans….just projects in the back of my mind that I’d like to start. I almost have a finish on Cirque, just waiting for beads and I’ll be done. Then onto something new!

  4. Thanks! I’ll have to go out to your blog and see what you’ve done. Cirque is such a pretty piece… I can’t wait to see it with the beads!

Leave a Reply

